top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureNat

Untitled Poem


I try to sleep but

your names ring

in my head

like a resounding alarm.

Layleen!

Rayshard!

Dominique!

Riah!

Breonna!

Sandra!

Ahmed!

George…

……scribbles...blurs...too..many…

unknown...

sounds, sights, sorrows of

incessant fear, nearing

death.

There is no escape

nor a moment to

breathe,

every inch of our beings lived

in dreadful anticipation…

Who is next?

Am I next?

If not safe at rest nor in sleep, where then can we

be free?

I scroll,

I toss,

as my heart races,

legs tremble,

muscles spasm.

Endless images burn my mind,

implant more scenes in the file marked “trauma,”

that I have kept secret

since pap was pulled over,

questioned by the men in blue suits

as I sat with my coloring book in the backseat.

Dawn creeps in the periphery of my gaze,

still I remain stuck in this unbreakable loop;

shots, blood, screams,

death....

caused by the same men in blue suits

whose loud sirens ring almost as loud as

your names,

outside of the glass window too thin to shield my

black body.

6 am, my eyes are bloodshot

as I finally attempt the thing they call

sleep;

an act so foreign to those whose internal alarm of

agony

never ceases to ring.



18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Nola

Audre

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page